Thank you to all our students for contributing their beautiful artwork to our website.

Ratheniska National School

Partnering Children on their Developmental Journey

Our Staff

There are 9 full time teachers on staff including the Principal. We also have 4 teachers who jobshare along with one other teacher who is shared with other schools. There are 4 Special Needs Assistants and our school secretary, Mairéad Fennell. We also employ a cleaner and a caretaker. Here is our list of this year’s staff and their primary roles in the running of the school.


Ms. Dunne, Principal

Ms. Dunne has been Principal at Ratheniska since 1999. Ms. Dunne is an Administrative Principal.


Mr Stephen Lawlor, Deputy Principal

Mr. Lawlor commenced his role as Deputy Principal at the beginning of 2024.


Class Teachers:

Junior Infants – Ms. Sarah Stapleton

Senior Infants – Ms. Laura Moloney

First Class – Mr. Niall Fennelly

Second Class – Mrs Michelle O’Byrne

Third Class – Ms. Katie Rafter/Mr. Stephen Lawlor

Fourth Class – Ms. Niamh Dunne

Fifth Class – Ms. Ciara Dempsey/Ms. Michelle Begley

Sixth Class – Mr. Brendan Conway



Special Education Team:

S.E.T. (Special Education Teachers) – Ms. Karen Fingleton/Mrs Martha Dooley (Junior Infants, Senior Infants, 1st Class, )

–  Ms Sandra Mulhall – (2nd Class, 3rd Class, 4th Class)

–  Ms.  Denise Spillane/Ms. Fiona Dunne– (5th Class, 6th Class)


Special Needs Assistants:
Mrs. Margaret Greene
Mrs. Mairead Byrne
Mrs. Norah O’Sullivan
Mrs. Aine Sandgrove


School Secretary:Ms Mairéad Fennell
School Cleaner: Dominyka
School Caretaker: Mr. Lloyd Sandgrove


Board of Management

The Board of Management manages the school on behalf of the Department of Education and the Patron (Bishop of Kildare & Leighlin) for the benefit of the students and their parents. The Board operates at all times in accordance with the policies determined by the Minister for Education and with due regard to the moral, religious and spiritual values of the Patron.

Current Board Members

Chairperson: Ms. Jenny Gannon

Secretary: Ms. Pauline Dunne


Teacher Nominee: Ms. Michelle O’Byrne

Patron Nominee: Fr. Adriano Oliveira

Parent  Nominee: Mr. Derry Townsend

Parent  Nominee: Ms. Laura Baldwin

Community Nominee

Boards are appointed for a term of four years.